Fabulous Friend Post Swap

1-use

This is something New that we thought about.  We have so many Fabulous Friends that have awesome websites and blogs.  We thought it would be fun to “Post Swap”.  We choose our favorite post of yours and you choose your favorite post of ours to share.  If you want to participate in this just let us know.  It is a great way to showcase all of the Fabulous people who are helping us on our journey!

Today we are swapping with our friend from twitter KCLAnderson.  Just like us she is fighting the fat and winning!  She has so many awesome posts on her site it was hard to choose but the following post is the one we chose to swap today.  To visit her site click here  We can all learn something if we dare to let ourselves bloom!

Hello Opened Eyes!

Written by Karen on March 27, 2009 – 11:14 am

 

“And the day came when the risk it took to remain tightly closed in a bud was more painful that the risk it took to bloom.” – Anais Nin

I was reminded of this quote when, as I walked along Ocean Avenue towards the beach, I saw a flower blooming – the first one I’ve seen this year.

I remember what it felt like when I took the risk to bloom. I also remember the pain of remaining tightly closed in a bud. Recently I’ve been more like half closed bud and half bloom…not sure what I want.

On a more practical note, earlier this week I commited myself to counting/logging my calories at fitday.com at least six days a week. Eating intuitively and mindfully is a wonderful thing, but I need to re-discover what that really means and I think the only way to do it is to get it down on (cyber) paper. It’s also a small way for me to get over my fear of, and resistance to, setting a goal. Funny thing, I recently read that, in addition to being the Constitution State, Connecticut is also the Land of Steady Habits…hmmmm

Then a friend of mine put this oldy-but-goody out there: “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” (Albert Einstein)

And you know what? On my run, I realized that this is exactly what I was doing: eating the same old same old and expecting to lose weight. Now, one thing I have done is cut back and make better choices, but that is only enough to stop me from gaining – it’s not enough to get lighter! Hello opened eyes!!

That’s one of the reasons I love to run: it’s moving meditation, it’s opened eyes, it’s about what I can do, not what I can’t, it’s being in half bloom and being okay with it, it’s crying at the beauty of it all.

1 Comment

Filed under Diet Buddy, Fabulous Friend Post Swap, Fabulous Friend Spotlights

One response to “Fabulous Friend Post Swap

  1. First – it’s great to see Karen Anderson guest posting on your blog!!

    That quote from Albert Einstein “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results” is one that I use with my clients all the time.

    You see, too often we get stuck in a rut of doing the same old things, and EATING the same old things. I guess it’s human nature. When I first work with people, and then periodically after, I have them keep a food log — so together we can see where they need to change things a bit.

    Amazing how just a bit of tweaking can create better & faster results!

    We ALL need to tweak our eating from time to time — even me! Though I do eat intuitively, time to time I need to remind myself to always be tweaking and/or challenging myself.

    Great insight Karen!!

Leave a Reply

