Baby Shower

1-chinese_food_box

So 12 days in and it happened.  This morning I knew I was going to my cousins baby shower tonight.  The baby shower just so happens to be in the same town as my favorite chinese restaurant.  Knowing what I was going face I just planned on going out to the chinese restaurant.  I made sure that my breakfast and lunch were low calorie and hey I have been really good for 12 days!  There really is not a healthy choice in a chinese restaurant so I just went ahead and ordered my favorite, the sweet and sour chicken combo meal.  Oh lordy it tasted good!  What do you want me to lie? 

My mom is awesome she eats 1/2 of her meal and gets the other half to go.  I don’t understand where she gets the power to do that…go mom!  As she is putting her food into the to go container she looks at me and says “do you want to take that to go”?  Um let me think about it for a minute…hell NO! I managed to polish off the rest of my meal and then gave her the last 2 spoonfuls of rice to add to her to go box.  So officially I only ate 99% of my meal.  I really wish I could say that this is the end of this story, but I am ashamed to say that it is not. 

We went to the baby shower, the whole reason we were there in the first place.  Who knew they were going to feed us there?!  It was not on the invitation, you really should put that kind of information on an invitation.  To be polite I decided to  partake of goodies that were made for us guests.  The last thing you want them to think is that we just ate a 2500 calorie chinese meal.  So I got a plate, put some cucumbers, cauliflower, ranch dip, bread thing with creamy cheese, 2 cream puffs and a dessert bar on it.  I did not want them to think I didn’t appreciate all the hard work they went to in preparing this wonderful food for us.  Then I did what anybody who just ate a full chinese combo meal would do, I ate everything on the plate!

Yes I to fell off the wagon, but the difference is that I am getting back on right now!  Normally this day would turn in to a full binging weekend and I will not let it happen this time.  My dear dissapointed diet buddies, make me a promise.  If I fall off the wagon again…just run me over!

Shannon-With a stomach ache and gas 😦

BTW my fortune cookie said: You deserve special treatment this month.  Enjoy dessert.

4 Comments

Filed under Cheatin' Hearts, Diet Buddy, Fabulous thoughts of Shannon, Food Stuff

4 responses to “Baby Shower

  1. I knew if I checked in today you would have another great story of either challenge or success. Little did I know it would be both.

    First and most important thanks for your honesty and accountability in your post. It says so much about the struggle many of us go/went through to lose weight. And it shows how you learned from your experience and got right back into focus. One day off your plan is not the end of the world as long as you get right back at it. Guilt feelings are weight loss killers, sticking to it overcomes it all.

    A couple of hints for you. Re-think the idea that it would be rude not to graze the goodies just because someone took the time to make them. It is not an insult to your family and friends to take care of yourself. Who knows, you just might inspire them to do the same.

    If you feel the need to eat the goodies then pick the best choices and leave the others for some one else to decide what to do with them. That way you are still “being polite” and the calorie damage is minimalised. Remember food is fuel and you want the “high octane” stuff.

    One last thing. I have learned in family gatherings that no one really cares what you are eating, they really just care that you are there and active. This should be the same for friends. It is ok to say I am really working on my weight so “No, but thanks for thinking of me.” They will admire (or be jealous) you for your commitment.

    Who knows you may just be the trigger for some one else to say they think that is a great idea and go for it. Remember you inspire people with your choices, which direction will you lead them today?

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      Challenge and success? Hmm I didn’t think about it that way, but you are right. Today I feel more determined to stick this out and make it work. So I guess it’s a lesson learned 🙂 You know when we start a post about cheating, even though we joke alot we worry about what you all might think. When we decided to do this we said we are going to post the good and bad, just keeping it real. So hopefully we will help you all out as much as you have helped us. One thing I promise. no more chinese food!
      Shannon 🙂

  2. Hey girl!

    We all fall off the wagon sometimes. It’s a part of life, especially this life. The world is full of temptations and full of people who don’t have our problems and worries (or ignore them). It’s hard to turn down that stuff when it’s right there in front of you, and people around you or eating it… And it’s hard to pass by something you really like, and don’t get to have often, especially less than a month after you’ve started.

    Also, I know how you feel about the mom thing… my mom is even crazier and doesn’t finish and leaves the food there! I’m like “WHAT?!” I try to avoid going out as MUCH as possible, and when I do, I like going with her because she’s actually an inspiration for me to eat less and better. Let your Mommma inspire you and try taking half home for later. You’ll be happy you did! And not just because it saves you the calories then, but because then you can enjoy your favorite thing TWICE!

    As for the shower, usually at things like that they ALWAYS serve food. And they don’t always say they will, they just DO. It’s a tradition or something, and usually it’s fattening stuff with a tray or two of fruit and veggies. I try to take at least 5 fruit and veggie things, and then I’ll get one of something else for every five. After I’m on the second round, I’m stuffed! All that gosh darn brocolli…

    Anyway, like I said, it’s okay to make mistakes, because you can’t think that you’ll NEVER have that stuff again. It’s unrealistic. But just know it’s a VERY special occasion thing. Like once every three months kinda thing. It’s a treat, not a reward, okay?

    I know you can do it… This is a learning process! Just keep your buddies closer and we’ll help ya through it! Well never run ya over, but we can lend you a hand back up.

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      Thank you for you words of advice. I love that you said it’s a treat not a reward. That is such a good way to look at it all. Why would you want to reward good healthy behavior with an unhealthy prize? Sort of ironic if you think about it. I am glad you won’t really run me over, and thanks for the hand back up today. This has actually made me stronger and helps put things into perspective. Your awesome!
      Shannon

Leave a Reply

