Two Peas in a Pod

My mom and I at Shoshone Falls, ID

My mom and I at Shoshone Falls, ID

I am writing the post on the road.  Thank goodness for modern technology.  I am traveling through Idaho, with my mom, visiting family.  We are on our way to see my maternal great-grandmother who is 101 years old.  I haven’t seen Granny in 18 years and I am very excited!

I have had so much fun traveling with my mom.  We are so much alike and often say the exact same things at the same time, with the same tone.  We have a similar sense of humor and really get a kick out of one another.  My mom is the most amazing woman I have ever met!  She has had 3 back surgeries in the past 18 months and also struggles with fibromyalgia.  I have never met a braver or stronger woman in my life.  She has showed more courage through her struggles than anyone would ever imagine possible and has shown concern and cared for others through all of her health struggles.  Her last surgery was very successful and she is doing so well.

My mother has been there to support me through all of my trials and triumphs throughout my life.  She is my biggest cheerleader and the shoulder I lean on for support.  I am going through a divorce after nearly 10 years of marriage and two amazing children.  I would be a wreck without my mother!  She has let me have my moments of complete break downs and encouraged me along the way.  She is the world’s most wonderful grandmother, a.k.a. Grammy Pants!  My kids adore her and she is their friend ally and nurturer.  She will play ball with them, help with homework, cheer at their sporting events, and teach them about life.  I feel so fortunate that my children have such a great support and friend in their grandmother.

One of my favorite things to do with my mom is shopping!  We can go shopping for over 12 and still want more.  We always have to coordinate our clothes… when I say coordinate I am NOT saying we try to dress the same, I am saying we have to plan so we don’t dress the same.  If we don’t plan in we will most likely end up in such similar outfits people will look at us like we are nuts.  We love to laugh and have fun teasing with the sales clerks.  I usually ask my mom, while she is paying at a store, if that is the credit card she found in the parking lot.  It’s so funny… usually the clerks get that I am joking, but there are sometimes they get really nervous and that cracks me up!

When I was in high school and working at a local convenience store I used to tell people my mom was a mud wrestler.  No, my mom is not, has never been, nor do I think she will ever be a mud wrestler.  I had a few people convinced.  One friend had to come meet my mom to see if she really was and after meeting her he believed me.  My mom was even cool enough to play along!

I really appreciate that my mom has always loved, supported me and encouraged me!  I hope to be the kind of mother my mother was!

I love you mom!  Hugs-n-kisses XOXO!

Angie

2 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Angie

2 responses to “Two Peas in a Pod

  1. Your mom is beautiful! And I love the description of her. She sounds (and looks) like a wonderful person and you are both so lucky to have each other!! Happy Mother’s Day, Angie’s Mom! You have an awesome daughter!!

  2. Mom

    Angie, oh my gosh! Shan tells me how much you two are alike and you sound just like her. We too have been known to show up wearing almost the same outfit. It is now, if we are going together we call to make sure the other one is not wearing the same thing. We don’t even have to be together to buy the same outfit! go figure. can’t wait to meet you and your mom too. BTW love this blog.

Leave a Reply

