Chocolate Cake, Lilacs and a Goat

Well week three down!  I am pretty excited about it I feel like I have done pretty well.  I have lost 2 more pounds which brings my total in 3 weeks to 10 pounds.  I feel great, excited and better than I have in a long time!  When I was thinking about this post over the week I thought of 21 days to break a habit but then I realized  I have not went a full 21 days off of anything, so that would not work.  The inspiration for today’s post is coming from my Mother’s Day.  We are going to start at the chocolate cake.  1 choc cakeThis is a 5 pound chocolate cake!  I wish I could tell you that it was given to me as a gift, but I am afraid to say that I bought it myself.  Honestly, I do not know what came over me.  I went shopping to get items for dinner and passed up several cakes with cute pink and green frosting on them, no trouble at all.  Then I come around the corner and there it was, right in front of me chocolate freakin’ heaven!  So I bought it for dessert after dinner, I am certain you all would have done the same.  (this is where you agree.)  When I got home I put dinner in the oven and decided I would have my slice of cake.  When you take a 5 pound cake and eat 1/10th you eat 1/2 of a pound.  Yeah think about that one!  When I got done eating it I felt like a cheap cheating sleaze ball.  I realized although I had not been perfect in the last 21 days I had not touched a pastry or baked sugary anything.  Right away I knew that I had to counteract the damage I had done.  I decided to go on a bike ride.  When I was leaving my house I suited up in my calorie counting gadget, helmet and mp3 player.  The last words out of my mouth were “I am not coming back until I have burned 600 calories.”  Heading down the road I knew that I was going to have to go down “THE HILL” to burn the necessary 1 hillcalories, now the hill is a monster.  I have been avoiding it for a while because honestly I did not think I could make it back up.  The devastation would be huge if my neighbors saw me pushing my bike and my fat butt up the hill.  As I approached the hill I got that feeling you get when you go on an amusement park ride, you know that one of no turning back  when you are strapped in and it’s to late.  That’s the feeling.  So I just sucked it up and down the hill I went.  It was exhilarating!  My little speedometer thingy said I went 27 MPH just coasting down the hill.  The ride was so much fun I realized how much I have missed the feeling of freedom that bike riding gives you.  It had been 2 years since I dared to go that far on my bike.  I enjoyed every 1 lilacsminute of it .  The smell of the lilac bushes as I cruised by smelt so very good. They are my favorite.  It seemed to go from lilacs to BBQ’s, there were a few times I thought about stopping for a hot dog…but I didn’t.  I kept cruising along trying to avoid the streets that have dogs that chase you, along with the streets that my friends live down who would make fun of me in my bike helmet.  The next thing I knew, I was 5 miles away from home.  Then it hit me, I had to eventually turn around and go back.  So I headed up the road.  All of a sudden the easy going bike ride started going up hill.  I was huffing and puffing certain that people could hear my panting as I rode by.  Although my speedometer said I was going 7 MPH I am sure it was 8 or 9!  My legs were burning and I started trying to focus on the music, then all of a sudden I found a little friend.  It was like he was cheering me on as I rode by.  Letting me know I was going to make it.  It was a goat.  He just gave me such a look 1 goatas I sped by at 6 MPH that I could not help but feel a little bond with him.  He is now one of my diet buddies.  I did make it up that street and then turned to head home.  The rest of the ride was fairly easy, but I knew what was coming.  I had it all planned out in my head, when to switch gears, when to say it’s okay and push my bike up the hill all of it, I had mentally prepared myself for this hill.  My bike started out at 12 MPH and I just kept telling myself I was going to make it, I kept peddling away and was about half way up the hill then my speedometer went to 8, 6, 5 and then 3 MPH.  My little chubby legs were peddling as fast as they could, I was just hoping that my bike did not tip over from lack of motion.  I put my head down and then all of a sudden I was at the top of the hill!  I made it!!!!  Then I started to cry, I cried because I did it, I cried because I am strong enough and I cried because I found that I can do whatever I set my mind to even when I feel like I can’t.  This may seem small to some people but to me it is huge!  It is something I have not done for 2 years because I was afraid of failure.  Biking is something that I have loved so much and I kept myself away from it out of fear.  How ridiculous is that?  So my fear is gone, I proved that I can make it back up that damn hill and I will conquer it again and again!  The only thing that holds us back is ourselves no one else.  My plan this week is to ride a total of 50 miles because I CAN do it, because it will make me feel better and because I deserve to do something I enjoy so much.  Long story with weird stuff but hey this is me and I CAN have a goat as a diet buddy if I want! Who knew 1 piece  of chocolate cake would lead to this?

Shannon with a new Diet Buddy

11 Comments

Filed under Cheatin' Hearts, Diet Buddy, Fabulous thoughts of Shannon

11 responses to “Chocolate Cake, Lilacs and a Goat

  1. Not sure how I stumbled upon your blog…but I’m lovin’ it!

    10 pounds in 3 weeks is awesome – congrats!!

    I love the fact that you didn’t eat the chocolate cake and just be like…oh well, I cheated a little. You did something about it. And you conquered a fear in the process!

    P.S. I love your new diet buddy 😉

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      Thank you! We are glad you found us as well and I will check you blog out. I love the title of it. S

  2. Mom

    Okay, cried on that one too!!! dang!!! I just love you, but you know that.
    Richard said it ‘it takes an amazing mom to have an amazing daughter’ and you are that.
    I know how you feel about that HILL. the first time you took me up it I did have to get off and push my fat but up that thing. You can do it! 50 miles? okay you are on!

  3. Great post! It really is beautiful where you live… So peaceful!

    Well done on making it up the hill. Isn’t it amazing what happens when we challenge ourselves? Love the goat too!

  4. First, Shannon, thanks so much for your lovely comment on my blog this morning. 😀

    After reading what I went through I’m sure you know I speak the truth when I tell you how extremely proud I am of you and your wonderful accomplishment! The weight loss is great and what you did after eating that scrumptious-looking cake is even better!

    Isn’t it wonderful that we’re both on our way to transforming our lives? You go girl!

    –Susan

  5. teetee_71

    Tremendous accomplishment!! You not only rode back up that hill but climbed a mountain!! You were tempeted, gave into temptation, but turned to activity instead of giving in (the “I blew it factor”), feeling beaten and eating the whole cake. You tackled something you’d been avoiding for years and there it was….SUCCESS!!
    Congrats on your 10lb weight loss! Great Job! You should be so proud of yourself!

  6. Funny how life serves us up what we need. Chocolate cake victory! What a great story! You scored another determination victory over facts.

    The fact was you ate the cake, but you got over that and moved on to the next decision and that was to work it off. Quick recovery! Something to be proud of just by getting out the bike and heading out.

    But hey you didn’t stop there (so awsome!) you had this fixed picture in your mind of what you could do. You even saw it in your minds eye, and yet you overcame that limitation as well. No wonder your mom is so proud of ya!

    And sometimes our cheer leaders don’t look the way we think the might but hey I will take a goat cheer over a struggle witout one single cheer. Besides he looks like a pretty wise goat (Grin!).

    These types of choices keep you on track to your primary goal. It also sets the pattern with your secondary choices towards a habit of continued success.

    I see another great week of weight loss on the horizon for you!

  7. Tina

    The hair was standing up on my arms when I read your story of accomplishment. What an inspirational story!

    I had a rough weekend, not the best mother’s day, but you gals inspire me to keep moving on my journey and never to give up. Thank you!!

  8. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

    Shan,
    You are a superhero in my eyes! I still have tears from this… you inspire me!
    THANK YOU!
    BTW… Who’s goat? I am going to go introduce myself to him/her and see is he/she can inspire me too!
    I just decided I am going to learn to run and even run a 5K this summer!! Oh crap… I put it in writing so now I have to do it! S*?#T!!
    Angie

  9. You are an inspiration. Did you use gears going uphill? I don’t understand the gears. . . I’d never attack a hill at this point.

    I love your little goat cheerleader; the titles of this post and the next one are priceless!

  10. This was such an incredibly inspiring post! I can’t believe I didn’t read it sooner. It brought tears to my eyes!

    Keep up the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

