Um, Something is Very Wrong!

Thanks for pointing out the obvious, Dr. Phil!

Thanks for pointing out the obvious, Dr. Phil!

 

I am pretty sure there is a problem if you start a diet and decide to go off it because you are getting too fat!  I am fairly certain a girl of my proportions goes on a diet to lose weight.  BTW… this is another one of those times I want to say screw this diet; I just can’t lose weight, but, Shannon will not let me and my mom won’t let me and I am SO thankful for that.  Not to mention the fact I am becoming addicted to blogging and Twitter and I am too chicken to tell ya’ll I have decided to be fat and unhealthy.  So it is time to figure out what’s working and what’s not and most importantly where I need to focus my time and energy.

I have learned quite a bit about dieting this week.  There was a funny quote one of our Twitter friends posted one day, and I am sorry I don’t remember who, it said: “Going grocery shopping hungry is like going to the bar when you are lonely… you are most likely to end up with something you really don’t need.”  (That quote may be slaughtered, but that is the jest of it).  That has been my big problem this week, and no I am not referring to the lonely/bar part, but putting myself in a bad spot by not eating.  Who would have thought not eating enough was part of my fat problem.  Here is what I have been doing this week… I am not planning my food as well as I should and then I just don’t eat because I am busy and I don’t want to make the wrong choice.  Not a good idea!  Eventually, food is placed in front of me and all self control goes out the window while eat more in 5 minutes than anyone should in a whole meal!  Ugh… Not a good place to be in.  Just call me Miss Piggy!

The other issue I have had is with exercise.  I know, you are all thinking… What?!  It is the middle of YOUR challenge and you aren’t exercising?!  I know, I know!  I was intending to go on about how busy I have been and I am a single mom and I am doing the best I can, but I have changed my mind.  I am not going to give you my list of excuses I am going to give you results.  I will still complete this challenge and walk 15 miles by Monday.  My legs may fall off, but without legs I would weigh a lot less. 🙂  Besides, how lame would that be to not complete the Fab Fatties challenge and let everyone kick my trash?

I feel like I am letting opportunities for change pass me by.  Since starting this blog I have heard of so many amazing people who have lost some serious weight.  Why do I feel it is impossible for me?  Why does it feel so hard at times?  Maybe it is lack of focus in this area of my life?!  How can I do it all… work, be a mom, keep up a house, tend to family needs, yard work, socialize, community involvement… (The list goes on and on)!  So here lays my challenge… doing it all and still focusing on my own health.

I don’t know if I will ever have it figured out, but I am not willing to give up.  So far I have seen enough results to know it is worth perusing.  I have more energy, especially when I drink enough water and eat healthy, I am thinner in some areas and some of my clothes are fitting different.  I also really enjoy eating whole, healthy foods.  It is amazing how much more satisfying them are, how much better they taste and how I feel good after eating them.

Here is the plan of action: I am going to keep looking for ways to fit in the time to prepare whole healthy foods.  I am going to eat every 3 – 4 hours.  I am going to find a way to exercise.  Most of all… I am NOT going to give up and I am going to enjoy the journey and the lessons along the way! 

Angie, Determined and Hungry (again!)

11 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Angie

11 responses to “Um, Something is Very Wrong!

  1. Tina

    Angie, you’ve got guts and your honesty is refreshing. You say what most of us are thinking if not now, then at some point during our journey. You are still in it because you chose to be and that is simply wonderful. You go girl!!!

  2. Angie, I just wanted to say for the record that I think you are an amazing person and that I know you can’t do this—it may take some time, but I *know* you will find a way that works just right for *you*!

  3. Oh my GOD, I can’t type! I wrote “I know you can’t do this” but obviously I meant “I know you CAN do this”!! GAH! I hadn’t had my morning caffeine yet.

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      I was really hurt thinking you thought I was a big fat lazy faliure! JK… Honestly I didn’t even notice. Thank you for all your support! – Angie

  4. I love the twitter quote! I can completely relate to it.

    I think part of reaching our goals is modifying our plan when we need to….but not giving up!

    Keep up the good work!

  5. Kathy (aka KKirkscey)

    Angie, don’t get discouraged! Hang in there – you can do it! Remember to eat every 3 hours and concentrate on high fiber, low fat food. Don’t ever let yourself get too hungry. Keep healthy choices around to snack on. I like Fiber One cereal bars, low fat yogurt, and of course fruit and raw veggies. Nuts are good too if you can just eat a few. (that’s kind of hard to do I think). There are lots of healthy high fiber cereals around too – good for snacks or meals other than breakfast! Also, have you tried lifting weights? There are a lot of exercises you can do with hand weights. I also have one of those giant exercise balls which are great. You can do some exercises and weight lifting in just a few minutes 3 times a week, and it really pays off. Stay strong! You can do it!

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      Thank you for the great ideas! I will definitly try to eat more often and add more fiber… I love Kashi so I need to go shopping to get some stuff. I love strength training too and haven’t done any lately so I am going to add that into my schedule. Thank you soo much, you are amazing!

  6. I agree! You can do this and you will figure it out…

    One thing we must all keep in mind is that the ones who do well and succeed are no different from us. It was not somehow easier for them than it is for us. Yet they managed to do it and we can too!

    Eating whole, unrefined and FRESH foods is the key. Good luck!

  7. Ok you two, two struggling posts from both of you. Bonk, bonk. Of course you can do this Angie. Remember the hill and the bike ride. You went past the hurdle and did the ride. You have all the ability and the reasons to stick it out. Take a look at your why list today. Not made one, MAKE ONE! Lol it will be there to remind you why you can’t turn back now. Need help? Just ask, you both have left so many why’s in your posts already to keep an army going.

    Now to some helpful and simple advice on not eating. To make it easier do 5-6 small meals a day. This keeps your body metabolism up and a feeling of fullness. Plan out your calories to stretch over those meals and pick the right balance of carbs, protein, and fats. I know it sounds like a lot to figure out but you are doing this on your own foods so it will take some planning and can be done. There is helpful software if you get overwhelmed and just need to track it.

    Look if I can loose weight anyone can. I was a see food, eat food kind of guy. Now food is fuel and you will hear me say this over and over. Nothing tastes as good a thin feels!

    You have the will, the way, and the support! You both can do this and kick the weight thing out of the way. Life is worth living and each day’s journey has to be stepped out one step at a time.

  8. You’re committing to taking care of yourself. When you do that, you’ll be in a better place to take care of all of your other commitments. The biggest thing for me was to carve out time for exercise… as a full-time working mom of twins, I felt terribly guilty for not spending time with them as it is. But I realized I was setting a bad example for them by not taking care of myself, and I wouldn’t be able to take care of them the way I wanted to if I wasn’t active. Good luck!

  9. I know you can do anything you put your mind to Angie! Just wrap your mind around the “I WILL” and go go GO!

Leave a Reply

