How to be Parent’s of the YEAR!

Carson-Anthony-Reagan Shannon's Boy's

Carson-Anthony-Reagan Shannon's Boy's

This morning I sit here basking in the light of Motherhood.  It takes a lot of work to be a good parent and my husband and I take the cake!  If you want to be fabulous parent’s like us there are a couple of things you need to be certain that you do.  First and foremost everyone knows that when you become parents you officially get awarded a couple of get out of jail free cards. These are to be used only when you really mess up and don’t mean to cause your children heartache and disappointment.  FYI we are all out of get out of jail free cards and our youngest is 8!

It is the end of the school year here and all of the usual things are going on.  The special field trips that the kids have worked for all year, the state reports are due, that have been worked on for a month.  Little things like that.  It’s an exciting and busy time around here.  Did I mention BUSY?  **Busy may cause certain actions that fabulous parent’s usually do not do…to our defense!

Reagan’s state report on Oklahoma, that he literally has been working on for about a month is due this morning.  It is a big deal, he will set it up at school and everyone comes around learn about Okalhoma.  He will proudly stand next to his display dressed like Toby Keith and share all of the information that he has learned this last few weeks.  He asked me to get cookie dough so we could make a BIG cookie in the shape of Oklahoma, so I did.  Last night we hurried and baked the cookie dough, put the pan on the counter to cool and ran to a baseball game.  My husband went to one game and I went to another.  After the games at 10 p.m. we finally met back at home.  Reagan and I walk in and my husband is sitting on the couch with Carson.  Reagan walks into the kitchen and starts screaming, “NO NO NO NO I can’t believe this!”  Then the tears start flowing.  I thought one of our dogs had died, but no it was much worse.  My dear husband unknowingly ate 1/2 of the sheet of cookie!  We went into a panic and my husband feeling like Super Dad offered to go get more cookie dough.  The problem is that it would take about an hour because of where we live.  After everyone calmed down for a mintue Reagan decided we could make a LITTLE cookie of Oklahoma instead.  All is well! 🙂

Then this morning rolls around.  Anthony has a field trip to go on a hike.  Mind you this is not your ordinary hike.  The kids have to pass off a very difficult physical test and there are many who do not qualify to go.  Anthony has passed off and done everything necessary to qualify.  All year he has been looking forward to this hike, it is one of his favorite things to do.  I personally had 1 role in him being able to go.  He arranged for a ride that would pick him up this morning at 5:00 a.m. because the bus leaves the school at 5:30 a.m.  All I had to do was wake him up at 4:30 a.m. this morning so he could get ready to go.  Last night I made sure he had everything packed and then I went and set my alarm for 4:30.  Oh, I forgot to mention it was set for 4:30 P.M.!!!!  So at 5:37 a.m. this morning I jumped up to look at the clock, flew out of bed in a panic and half way down the hall, I realized he had already missed the bus.  Yes, I felt like the biggest loser as I woke him up to let him know what had happened.  A very disappointed Anthony came up the stairs to greet me.  That SUCKED!

I went back into my bedroom to get sympathy from my husband and all he could say is “I am so damn glad it was you who set the alarm since I already ate the cookie.”  Thanks Hon!  Luckily they have both forgiven us , but I am sure we have not heard the end of it.  Being parent’s of the year is hard work! 

Super Mom Shannon

13 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Shannon

13 responses to “How to be Parent’s of the YEAR!

  1. Amanda

    Aww! Your boys are precious and your hubby sounds like great comic relief… I guess life wouldn’t be near as fun if it didn’t keep you on your toes sometimes! 🙂

  2. I don’t have kids just yet but reading your blog does make me think about what kind of trouble I will get int. I laughed when you walked in the room to look for comfort and all your husband could say was glad it wasn’t me… LOL.. Thanks for the laugh.

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      Thanks Vanessa! I am excited to check out your blog. You are right about getting more people to feel accountable with. It has been a big motivator for us and I am sure it will be for you as well! S

  3. They are three very handsome young men! I think parenting is not for the faint of heart…

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      Thank you I think they are pretty handsome! It is fun and frustrating but worht every bit of it all! S

  4. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

    Shannon is an amazing mother and wife! Don’t worry girl… ya gotta keep it real!

    Angie

  5. Kathy (aka KKirkscey)

    Your sons are so cute! Yes, parenting is the toughest job in the world. Thankfully, it is also the most rewarding. Sounds like you and your husband are great parents! How far did you say you were from the grocery store???

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      Thank you! We live 15-20 minutes away from a store so to just run in takes about an hour after it is all said and done. There are no quick jaunts around here. Angie’s house is about 1 mile down the road. It is beautiful where we live and the little inconvieniences are worth it! S

  6. 9uy

    Brilliant idea for a blog! I thought about making my own version of my weight lose journey, but I think I’m lacking your creativity.

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      You should do a blog. What makes it fun is that everyone is different and each one has so much to offer. Don’t compare yourself to anyone. Be yourself and just do a blog it is worth it and so much fun!

  7. Your boys are beautiful! Or, I guess I should say handsome. Either way, they’re adorable. And so was your story. I cringed at some parts and laughed at others and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this warm very real-life tale. 🙂

    –Susan

Leave a Reply

