I Quit!

I am seriously done!  I just can’t do it anymore and it is not worth it.  It is totally counterproductive to everything I am working toward and the things I want to achieve and that is why I am quitting soda for good!  I was inspired by our diet buddy from twitter, LessFatMoreFit.  He quit soda cold turkey and lost 13 pounds his first week!  I know drinking soda is holding me back in this weight loss journey and I am hoping quitting this and our amazing new challenge will give me the boost I need to really start dropping the pounds like a bad boyfriend!CA0U99YECA10FA1GCADRJ2MBCAZ1PUWMCAZORBCRCAEQ4P0HCAUQ3X0HCAAF1DWMCAEE9YTDCAD0MEOWCAHOCGQSCA723H0SCAYKK5VYCARWOYGECAOD6KERCACVHG8CCA2H3Y1ECATOPICKCA3KDHV9

I plan to drink lots of water and also Crystal Light and iced tea.  If you know any other great tricks PLEASE let me know.  I have been drinking quite a bit of soda daily and am really scared to stop… I love that stuff.  It is my “treat”.  However, to really have success on this journey I realize I must leave my dear friend Dr. Pepper, and the somewhat better for you substitute, Diet Coke with fresh lemons, behind. (SIGH)

I am really going to miss those two, but I am sure my results will help comfort me… I hope! 

Angie, scared and craving a Dr. Pepper already!

15 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Angie

15 responses to “I Quit!

  1. Tammie

    I love diet dr pepper!! LOL

    Giving up soda would be very hard for me, but I am willing to try.

    I will miss it too!!
    Tammie

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      I am so glad you are trying with me! There are some great suggestions below!
      Angie

  2. Amanda

    Do you like carbonated water? Wal-Mart sells 6-packs (though I think they sell single bottles, too) of flavored sparkling water that have 0 calories… the peach is my favorite. You might try those – just be sure to refrigerate them first. 🙂

  3. KKirkscey

    Have you ever tried skinny water? They sell it at Target. I like the acai grape blueberry flavor. And I just like the name too – skinny! Also Function light weight – I think it has a few calories though. It has an acai pomegranate flavor that is good and is also at Target. I love Diet Dr Pepper too!!! I know I should quit too – it’s hard!

  4. dawnie22

    I recently started having diet pepsi more often then not & I need to get off it again. It’s hard to just occasionaly drink the crap as it is totally addicting. But it has sooo much garbage in it that I know it’s unhealthy for me…so a challenge point for everyday we don’t have it, but what about if we do, deduct a point? lol jk
    tc Dawnie22

  5. Good for you! I’ve never been a soda drinker myself, but friends tell me how hard it is to give it up.

    Have you tried water or seltzer with fresh fruit? Slice lemons, limes, and/or oranges for some flavor. Or slice cucumber and chop some mint into it for a refresher on a hot day.

    Good luck. You can do it!

  6. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

    Thank you everybody! I am going to try all of those ideas!
    Angie

  7. longest i went w/o soda was about 2 1/2 weeks then i started having 2 a wk. this past wk i was bad. had way too many and know it’s caused a lot of swelling. time to get back to water.

  8. Just in case you need some more motivation to give up the diet sodas here is an article off of WebMd that might help you stand on your committment.

    http://www.webmd.com/diet/news/20050613/drink-more-diet-soda-gain-more-weight

    The jist is that diet soda drinkers actually gain more weight then regular soda drinkers. they quote some stats and such. You can also Google Diet Drink Studies and find much more evidence towards the same end.

    Great choices make for even greater weight loss. You guys are Fabulous! Keep it up.

  9. There are few better things you can do for your health than this! Well done! You can totally do this…

  10. Love the site- just stumbled on it the other day but I also quit drinking soda. It has been 12 days since my last diet soda. I’ve been drinking lots of sparking water and crystal light and such. My plan is to eventually get off those too. Switch to water or unsweetened tea only but wow! It is HARD. Especially because everywhere you go people just OFFER you soda!

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      Congratulations on being soda free for 12 days! I am on day two and it has been a crazy day and I really want one, but am sucking down the Crystal Light! 🙂
      Thanks,
      Angie

  11. I’ve been totally loving Crystal Light lately!! I found a 10 pack (singles) at Walmart for $2.50. Since it is so sweet I only use half a pack per 500 ml of water so it will last longer too. They have super yummy flavors like Green Tea Honey Lemon!

  12. Coffee, coffee and more coffee. Sometimes with ice. It’s the anorexics best friend, right next to cigarettes, which thankfully I’ve never been a fan of.

    Good luck! I know this is a tough one.

  13. Kathy (aka KKirkscey)

    Today is my 4th soda free day. Thanks for giving me the inspiration to quit! I have re-discovered Lipton cold brew tea bags. Just put one in a glass of cold water and you’re good to go.

Leave a Reply

