Taking Care

Wow… I am so excited to start the challenge!  I am so going to rock this challenge and be a better person because of it.  It is amazing to me how motivating this community of health minded people is that we have met through Twitter and our blog.  When we started this we thought if we had two people following us that would help us with accountability.  LOL… now we have 758 followers on Twitter and are growing every day.  I never would have thought so many people would care about what we are doing and I never in my wildest dreams imagined meeting so many fabulous, kind hearted, motivating people through this experience.  If you are not in the challenge, join… now… really!  We realize you are not going to accomplish everything every day, and we won’t either, but if you do more than you would have before that is a step in the right direction.

Remember how two days ago I said I was quitting soda?  Well… I haven’t had one!  It hasn’t even been that hard and I think that is because of the great support I have gotten from ya’ll and lots of Crystal Light and unsweetened ice tea.  Also, the fact that most of the soda I would normally drink was during work hours and my boss reads our blog and will probably tattle on me if I cheat (thanks Kevin, you rock)!  I also feel like I have more energy… maybe it’s a coincidence, but then again maybe it is the amazing results of being soda free for two days.  It is also so inspiring to me to have so many people join me in this no soda journey!  Thank you, thank you, thank you!  Another bonus to no soda… challenge points!

One last thing I want to share.  Weight loss and this journey to obtain better health has become so much more for me than just that.  I am learning so much about myself and how I handle different situations.  Right now I am in the mode of de-cluttering my life in all areas… mental, emotional, physical and so on.  It feels so good to get rid of the crap dragging me down.  This takes time and is not always easy… especially letting go of negative relationships, but is so important to do.  I am telling you this because it is something that is helping me in my life and is something you may want to consider for yourself.  Take inventory of what is working in your life and what isn’t… don’t hold on to unnecessary baggage just because it is what you are used to.

Okay right now… wherever you are whatever you are doing and whenever it is take a deep breath and commit to doing something positive to help you in achieving your goals.  I have the most amazing parents in the world and they are always reminding me “If you don’t take care of yourself you won’t be able to take care of anyone else”.  Remember – you are important and worth taking care of!

BTW… Twitter followers have increased in the time I wrote this post to 763.  Watch out Opera here we come!  Opera may have got one million followers in four weeks, but we will get there!  🙂

Peace out!

Angie ready to take on the world!

4 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Angie

4 responses to “Taking Care

  1. I was just setting up my spread sheet for this challenge and realized how truly amazing it really is. I go to gym in the mornings, but then I sit at the computer for the rest of the day. That extra “lunchtime” walk will do wonders for me, even if I just go round the block. It’s about stretching out the muscles and maybe getting some sunshine (I’ll take an umbrella when it rains).

    The value in this challenge is that it addresses a lot of areas in our lives. I know I’m going to benefit enormously.

    Well done for being off soda for 2 days, Angie! When we want something badly enough, nothing can stand in our way. Not even a soda-addiction!

    And you’re right, this spills over into all areas of our lives. I’ve always believed that our weight problems, and health problems, are just symptoms of a life out of balance. When you start pulling on one end, all the other areas are affected.

    Great post!

  2. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

    Thanks Angie for the inspiration. I am so proud of you and amazed at how well you are doing. You are making positive changes anytime something changes to positive then you are on the right path!
    Thanks for getting me of the soda as well. Hopefully my body does not go into a coma from lack of chocolate and soda! I am so glad we did this journey together, I would not have it any other way!
    XO Shannon

  3. rspeedygo

    so excited about tomorrow! I’ve been hitting the gym this week in preparation of the challenge. I’m wondering where you came up with the idea of the 2-week challenges? They are so perfect for me, after 2 weeks of watching what & how I eat and exercising I usually roll right back to old ways. The concept of changing it up every 2 weeks is brilliant! So thanks in advance…I know this challenge will be fun!

    **ps: try sparkling water in place of sodas and sugar free drinks-they are refreshing**

    Good Luck!
    Rachael

  4. And followers have gone up another couple of hundred (almost) since then!

    De-cluttering – yes, I keep meaning to do that – physically, in my house. I take bags to stuff to the op shop, but somehow there always still seems to be just as much stuff left…

    Congrats on the soda thing. For me it is chocolate. And biscuits. And, well, anything that goes well with tea. Another good soda sub is sparkling or iced water with a dash of lime juice. Maybe I should try hot water with lime juice instead of tea. Might help me get that 8 points for 8 H2Os one of these days… 🙂

Leave a Reply

