Bringing Sexy Back!

So I was reading an inspiring blog post the other day by our friend Foodie.  She was talking about doing a 5k and how excited she was

Out little inspirational Foodie!

Out little inspirational Foodie!

about it.  I am not sure what came over me, lack of sugar in my system, a moment of delusion I don’t know.  The next thing I know I tell Foodie I want to do a 5k by my next birthday!  Seriously, we all have those crazy spontaneous moments right?  Not one to procrastinate Foodie sent me an email right away with a couch to 5k plan.  When I opened her email I kinda got a stomach ache and felt really tired just clicking the button.  Anything to do with running just wipes me out!  I quickly closed her email and said “I will deal with this tomorrow.”  So tomorrow came and went 3 times.  Then tonight I go onto twitter and declare “I am going to start the couch to 5k training tomorrow!”  What the HAY is my deal?  Tomorrow never comes when I choose to do it tomorrow!  As soon as I realized I had said it I quickly responded with “I am going to start tonight not tomorrow.” 

TONIGHT I started my training for a 5k by my birthday on September 8th.  It was not near as bad as I thought it would be.  Surprisingly I have gotten into better shape over the last few weeks 🙂  I have decided that I am really going to do this!  For some reason if you put a challenge in front of me I just have to do it.  It runs in my family trust me.  For now its every other day following the little plan that Foodie sent me.  This is really exciting and I am looking forward to it.  Angie is going to do it with me she just does not know it yet LOL.  She made me quit the diet coke so now we will be even.  Well almost, diet coke is SOOOO good!  When I was about 20 minutes in my ipod played the song sexy back, lol.  It made me laugh but it made me think…Hell yeah i’ll bring sexy back!

If you live in Utah or are going to be visiting in Sept. join me on this little venture!  It would be so much fun to do as a group and I would love to meet you in person. 

To get the training plan click here.

Working on bringing sexy back! Shannon

22 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Shannon

22 responses to “Bringing Sexy Back!

  1. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

    I did the couch 2 5K and I just ran my 2nd 5K run yesterday (still training) and even did 4 miles last week! If I can do it, so can you. The trick is to not push yourself to run faster than your body can handle. When I realized that and slowed down, I amazed myself. I went from doing a 3 minute run to 16 minutes 2 days later! My first 5K event is June 28. You can do this!

    ~ @WannaBeSkinny

    • weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

      WOW everyone Thank you so much! Foodie you rock and you made me cry! I am a baby though so figures. I am really excited to do this and so excited so many others are going to as well. Woo HOO let’s go!
      Shannon

  2. Megan

    I want to do this! Thanks for your inspiration. I am 23 years old and when I met with a trainer he asked what I really wanted, “I want to learn to run again!” I am right there with you 🙂
    @DisaterDieter

  3. Yeah!!! I know SO many people who thought they’d never run (myself included LOL) do a program like this and run a 5K…it’s one of the best boosts there is!! I can’t wait to read more about it as the days go by!

  4. CJ Carter

    OK, I am convinced! I am going to try it too, if I break something though, I blame Shannon! LOL

  5. I can’t tell you how emotional this post made me feel. On so many levels. First, I am so happy for you Shannon (and Angie, you’re next! Yay!). I’m so thrilled you are (literally) taking this next step. I am so proud of you and happy for you.

    Secondly, I have to say it’s almost shocking to see MY picture there. I have to pinch myself. That’s ME? Running??? And inspiring other people to run? If anyone would have told me that this would happen, four months ago, I would have never have believed it. I would be like, “yeah right.” But look at us. Here we are. We’re running, we’re healthy, and we’re bringing others along on the journey.

    I feel like I’ve won the freaking lottery. I’m not kidding.

    YOU GO SHANNON!!!!!! (and Angie!!!!!!!!!!) I love you!

  6. The C25K plan is the one I am following. The first time I did it was two years ago but I never finished. Then I tried it again last summer but only got as far as week 7. This time I am determined to finish and I’ve already signed up for my first 5k race on September 12th (so very close to your birthday;)).
    I think pretty much anyone can do the C25K training, as it starts out at a level anyone even completely unfit (like me) can do. You can do it too!
    Looking forward to your posts about the C25K training. I am going to start week 2 tomorrow so we are not too far apart.

  7. Good for you! Follow the plan and you will do great! 5K’s are a great distance to run also.

  8. Count me in as yet another candidate for “Person Least Likely to Run and Enjoy It!” I did something similar to the C25K program, but even more gradual, based on the Zen Habits article “Beginner’s Guide to Running” (http://zenhabits.net/2007/05/beginners-guide-to-running/) What both programs have in common is the notion of starting with walk/run intervals and gradually working up to running the whole time. The other thing they both recommend is to motivate yourself by scheduling an event. It took me about 4 months to train for my 5K, and it was so much fun! Even now, I don’t always feel like going for a run, but boy, I have never said afterward, “Why did I do *that*? What a waste of time!”

    And if you can’t run, walking is fantastic exercise, too! Lots of people walk the 5K events and have a blast doing so. Here’s a resource I found for preparing for a 5K walk:
    http://www.lhj.com/lhj/story.jhtml?storyid=/templatedata/lhj/story/data/onyourmark_06202001.xml

  9. Kathy @KKirkscey

    Yay! I am sooo happy you started running! WooHoo! Hope you love it as much as I do. I started with a similar program 3 years ago when I was also a “person least likely to run and enjoy it.” It took me about 4 months to be able to run 3 miles without stopping, but it got a lot easier after that to increase the mileage. Good for you! I would love to run with you sometime! Races are really fun and they give you a shirt and free food and sometimes a medal!

  10. So proud of you. I can’t wait to hear how you do in your 5k. I felt so good when i did my first 5k walk. Now I regularly walk 2 miles around my block (yes, my block is really 2 miles around, it’s very odd), at lunch time or when I need to think. Maybe I’ll take your lead and start the c25k too. Hm, can I handle running more than 2 steps in a row… we’ll see. 🙂

    Thanks to you and Foodie for being an inspiration to so many people! I hope my journey can inspire a few people too.

  11. Wow, that’s only three months away! My birthday is on Sept 5. Good luck with the training! I’m sure you’ll do great!

  12. Do you believe in fate Shannon?

    This afternoon I was thinking about setting a running goal because it is National Running Day. I decided that I want to RUN a 5K on (or near) my 39th birthday.

    My birthday is September 11th and I live in Utah.

    I will do the race WITH you and Angie. What race are we doing? Do you know? I need to make a ticker…..

  13. Shoot! I had my other blog log in.

  14. Hey there is also a few music downloads that cover the Couch to 5K. You can get them for your ipod and for other players that use MP3’s

    I recommend this one found here:

    http://www.ullreys.com/robert/Podcasts/page4/files/category-7.html

    He covers all nine weeks and talks you though the walk/sprint cycle for each week. So it is timed out for you and ready to roll.

    It also is a great exercise to get the lbs off and rev up the metabolism. If you find the pace a bit fast take each week and make it 2. But the walk/run cycle can be completed each of the three days in about 25 mins. But the workout has a much higher effect on your calorie burn.

    Have fun you guys!

  15. Good luck with the 5k 😉 And yeah having a good assortment of music makes running cake!

    And what better day to start a running program then national running day?!

  16. That is awesome!! You will rock that 5k!

  17. Wow! This is fantastic! The motivation is contagious, I have only exercised (out side of gym class in HS) maybe 3 or 4 times. With this “Challenge” I have exercised the last three days and look forward to doing it! I am glad to hear that you are motivated to do the 5k and I am sure you will keep us updated on this venture.

  18. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

    What a great group of people! Thank you for all of your comments. This is really all about supporting each other and working together. Thank goodness we all have each other. Let’s run run run. I am so excited and motivated thanks to all of our fabulous friends!
    XO Shannon

  19. Hi Shannon
    I am not much of a runner but had the idea of doing a 5k too. Let me think about it and maybe I will do it right along with you for my first time. It is always nice to have someone to do it with and even a group is even better. Goodluck on your training.
    Vanessa

  20. I forgot to tell you that I love the song sexyback because when I listen to it the song puts a little hop to my walk my hips tend to sway a little more like if I was shakiera LOL.. You bring sexyback just watch those hips.

  21. 5ks? I’m impressed! I adore walking and lots of other ways to move but running….. um, no. too many knee surgeries and I just truly hate it.

    But all you go girls- watch your knees and hips and make sure to warm up, stretch, drink your water, wear your mittens, don’t talk to strangers, wear clean underwear…. did I leave any nagging out?

    xox
    Lisa
    http://www.IntuitiveBody.com
    http://www.FreedomFrombinges.com

Leave a Reply

