I am a Runner?!

Runners$28CanDo$29[1]

I am a runner… according to alitherunner our twitter friend and a great blogger.  You should be following her on Twitter and check out her blog (http://notasfatrunner.blogspot.com/)!  She is one of the prime motivators in getting butt going on the C25K (couch to 5K), well her and foodiemcbody, okay and lots of others that have been constantly checking on me ever since I was roped into the C25K by Shannon.  Alitherunner told me anyone who begins running is considered a runner, anyone at any level.  Wow… to think of myself as a runner is something else, and by something else I mean damn inspiring!

I decided I would do this on Thursday and accidentally fell asleep trying to get my son to sleep so it didn’t happen that night; then on Friday, same thing.  So I learned I must do it earlier in the day and today, Saturday I got it done!  It was only the first workout, but I am so excited and I feel amazing.  Few things feel as good as pushing your body and achieving fitness goals. (For the record it probably feels better than the stupid brownies I have always loved taste)  To think of running in an actual real life race is kind of surreal at this time… I guess it is something I have always admired people for, but not something I ever thought I would achieve, that is until foodiemcbody introduced us to the C25K.  It was amazing and inspiring to me to learn that so many people, who were not in phenomenal shape started the C25K program and now are real runners, not only running 5K races, but half marathons and marathons… AMAZING!

Have I ever mentioned I have the most amazing parents in the world?!  I do!  They are so supportive in this journey and encouraging.  I am so thankful for them and I know I would be a wreck without them… So to them I say thank you and I love you!  They are also the best Grammy and Papa any kids could ask for.

I am so excited to continue this journey with all the great people who have always supported me and all the inspiring new friends I am making along the way!

 Here is the link to the C25K plan: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml  Join us and do a 5K before the summer is over!

Angie the runner!

9 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Angie

9 responses to “I am a Runner?!

  1. Girl, you know I am so proud of you and have major goosebumps from reading this post. Especially since I have not run a step since my last 5k! (need to get my little injuries attended to) YOU CAN SO DO THIS and I am thrilled to bits that you enjoyed it!! Which is key in the process. That is why I believe c25k works – is that they make the process do-able, so you get SO excited that it’s actually happening. I am tickled pink for you. Yes yes yes!!!!!!!!

  2. Kathy @KKirkscey

    Yay Angie you are a runner! It is so exciting that you are doing the C25K program. You go, girl! Oh, and I love the cartoon too!

  3. Couch25K is such a great way to start a running program. It’s built for success. Be patient with yourself and go at your pace and you’ll get there.
    I started Couch25K in November, raced in a small duathlon in April (still needing to run/walk) and now I’m running a full 2.25 miles without walking. I’m slow, but I’m running and I was always the one who would look at other runners and think they were crazy!
    You’ll do great!

  4. Ali(therunner)

    YAY! Tell me when your first 5k is and I will try to schedule one for that same weekend so we can run it ‘together’. 😀

  5. I’m so excited and can’t wait to try out my new running shoes!

  6. That’s awesome! I decided today that I’m a runner too! And I like it…

  7. I must admit I never considered myself a runner (at least not yet), but I guess that makes me a runner too. Yay for us!

  8. So proud of you for getting it done! You are an inspiration, and I’m going to follow in your footsteps! I pulled up the c25k plan, and will be starting it today – no more tomorrows for me!

Leave a Reply

