It takes 21 days to break a habit.

 

good%20habits%20bad%20habitsI have heard that it takes 21 days to break a habit.  It has come to my attention that this may be true!  We have been on this journey 2 full months now and I have noticed many things that have changed.  Not only have I lost weight I have lost 7.5 inches from my fatness, quit eating Hershey’s and quit drinking soda.  That is all HUGE in the big picture of it all.  It has gotten to the point that I do not even crave Hershey’s or soda any longer.  I prefer water over soda and I have found other more healthy ways to curb my sweet tooth.  As many of you already know one of our favorites is fat free frozen yogurt.  YUM!   By the way the coolest place ever just opened up nearby so we will be doing a post about it soon.

I guess if you just hang in there you can over come anything.  That is pretty empowering to know.  By over coming the few things it has put me on track for bigger and better things.  If you would have asked me 4 months ago if I would do a 5k.  I would have laughed at you and thought never in a million years I can’t do that!  Well, I am starting my 3rd week of c25k training today!  Not only that my original plan is to run a 5k by my birthday in September and now we are going to try one at the end of July.  We are planning a run/walk version in July, but we are doing it.  This is exciting and scary at the same time.  The best thing about it all is that I know I can do it if I want to!

When you start doing something good and making positive changes it creates a chain reaction.  We have so many people who are joining us in this journey and planning on doing the 5k with us.  That is very cool!  21 days to break a habit…Right now I am working on cutting bad carbs out I only have 15 days to go and I am very excited to get there.  When you put together no Hershey’s, no soda, exercise and no bad carbs.  You have a recipe for a healthy, happy, fabulous fattie!

XO From a happy healthy Shannon

8 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Shannon

8 responses to “It takes 21 days to break a habit.

  1. With all those changes, you won’t be a fabulous ‘fattie’ anymore, but a FABULOUS FITTIE!

    Keep it up Shannon! You’re doing fabu!

  2. Shannon, it is so true. I feel the same way. And in Martha Beck’s book The Four Day Win she breaks it down into 4 day periods of doing very smallllllll changes, and then stringing them together until they turn into 21 days or a month. She makes healthy change do-able, just like the couch-to-5k people do. They don’t just say, “run a 5k.” They start out in tiny increments like “run for 60 seconds” and then gradually extend it. I think that successfully healthy lifestyle is just like that. I am so so happy for you and Angie and know that you are in this for good! oxoxo

  3. It’s incredible to see what we can do when we decide to do it..I’m swing it for myself too, and it is definitely more gratifying than a Dr. Pepper (though some days I still wish I had one.)
    It is so exciting to find healthier, equally satisfying alternatives. Good for you! And good for me!

  4. Aristotle said, “We are what we repeatedly do”. That is so true! Well done on doing so well!

  5. What an awesome post! I just found you and am so excited to hear about your journey. Giving up soda is such a great move. I hope you are celebrating your success big time!

  6. What an awesome post! I just found you and am so excited to hear about your journey. Giving up soda is such a great move. I hope you are celebrating your success big time!

  7. Kathy @KKirkscey

    Shannon, Congratulations on the weight loss in pounds and inches, on giving up Hershey’s and soda, and on the C25K training success! Woo Hoo!!!

  8. My weakness is soda. If I could only kick that habit. Last year I lost 70 pounds. I was the skiniest and the healthiest in my life. Then I got married and in a years time I have put all 70 pounds back on. Talk about weight fluxuation. It is demoralizing to have gone so far and to have gained it all back.

    I have to get back on track. My wife and I have a baby on the way and I want to live a long and healthy life for are little peanut (We call it peanut because we don’t know the sex yet and calling it, “It” just doesn’t seem right.

Leave a Reply

