To Cleanse or Not to Cleanse….

1 fad diet

Well this post is a little challenging.  I have been thinking about it for a couple of days now and have decided I want to share it after all.  When Angie and I started this journey we let everyone know that we are sharing everything, keeping it real.  The good and the bad.  We also let you all know that we are not nutritionists or dietitians.  We are real people who do real things trying to make real changes.  So with that being said I have decided to share my latest venture.

The reason I have hesitated is because everyone has their own opinion to what you should do to lose weight and what you should not do.  This past weekend I mentioned a cleanse on twitter that I was thinking about doing and quickly got scolded for even thinking about it at all.  SCOLDED LOL!  I know it is out of love and support and I really do appreciate everyone’s help and opinions.  At the same time I got support from friends who understand the benefits of cleansing and completely support it.  It really made me think twice about doing a cleanse at all.  Things that I worry about are that you won’t like me any more if you don’t agree…lol, but really I do worry.  I also worry that someone may try to do what I do and I want it to be very clear that this is MY thing and MY choice for ME not something I am promoting or telling you that you should do as well.

I am doing a cleanse.  I have looked into the good and the bad and know several people who have done this exact cleanse with much success.  I am not trying to replace a good healthy diet and exercise program with a cleanse.  What I am expecting to get out of this is a bit of a jump start over a little bump in the road.  If things go as planned I should feel better, lose some weight and have a healthy glow with a rainbow coming out of my ear!  LOL Just kidding 😉  Right now I am just finishing up day 1 and have felt really good about it.  I am following all instructions and am having the effects that I was told I would have.  Today I feel like I can do the whole cleanse, but that is today.  My plan is to finish it out, but if I feel like it is not good for me or like I just cannot do it I will stop.  I plan to post the good, bad and results about this because it is part of my journey and I want to share it.  However right now I am not going to be posting the name of this cleanse.  Feel free to ask questions and share your opinions and experiences with me in the comments.

Ultimately weight loss is a journey that only you can take.  How you choose to take that journey is completely up to you no one else.  Everyone’s journey is different even if they are on the same plan.  There will be people telling you that the only way is this “Super Plan” and then there will be people telling you that the same “Super Plan” is a bunch of crazy rubish!  The thing I believe, is that good nutrition and exercise are what you need for long term weight loss, but I also believe it is okay to give it a little kick in the A** if need be 😉

XO A soon to be cleansed Shannon

16 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Shannon

16 responses to “To Cleanse or Not to Cleanse….

  1. How could I not like you for doing a cleanse? LOL. I, too, have thought about doing the same thing but in the end decided it wasn’t for me. I haven’t written off ever doing one…I may decide some day that it is the right thing.

    Anyway, I’ll be interested to see how you do with it! Good luck!

  2. About 2-3 years ago, I tried that crazy lemonade cleanse. I lasted about 3 hours, most of that time spent on the toilet. LOL There was something involved some salt water … I remember it said it might take about 2 hours to kick in. Well, at 1 hr., 58 min., I ran to the bathroom … and was there for the long haul. Hope your cleansing experience is better!

  3. Shannon, I’ll still like you no matter what you do! I happen to be a believer in cleansing, on a couple conditions. It’s safe, doesn’t make you feel horrible while doing it, and isn’t a replacement for a healthy diet and exercise. Sounds to me like you’ve really thought it through and are doing it right. I hope it works for you, and am very curious to know what cleanse you went with. (There’s an herbal one I used years ago). Good luck!!

  4. I’m thinking of doing a colon cleanse, but there’s so much information like you said. I don’t really even know where to start…I’m going to try to figure it out though because I think it would be good for me on several levels…

  5. I admit I was on of the scolders on twitter. I may have missed some info. The thought of only having lemonade for days on end doesn’t seem healthy but if it part of a healthy (and safe) cleanse than I would like to know all about it. I am too chicken shit to try anything crazy (plus too broke to try something that may cost $$ and not work). and crazy is anything that I would have to buy.

    So, I really am open minded and hope I didn’t come off as not open. I am curious about the things with healthy benefits for my body. I can’t wait to hear how you make out!!

    And I love this blog!! seriously, you girls just tell it like it is! I appreciate that! Keep on truckin’

    peace, luv & happiness
    jen

  6. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

    Thanks everybody…whew I feel better LOL! Thanks for your support and I just love each and everyone of you to pieces XOXOXO
    Shannon

  7. teetee_71

    I too was a scolder! LOL! Only u can make decisions for you! If we all did and liked the same things twitter would be pretty boring! It will take a lot more than a cleanse for me to stop lovin you gals!! Hope it goes well for you! XX

  8. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties

    Okay Shanny Pants, I have been a little critical of this cleanse thing too… partly because you have already lost more than me and its not fair! LOL JK!
    However, this is a personal journey and each of us have to find our way by going our own way and doing what works best for us. So I wish you the best, even if that means you lose all your weight in one week and I am still ticking one measly pound a week!
    XO
    You know you are a super hero!
    Angie

  9. I’m largely in favor of cleanses, provided that they are actually cleanses that will give your body a boost, and not just a way of starving yourself for a few days. Similarly, I support water fasts, if they are supervised and tackled with the right preparation and ended in the right way.

    So, let us know how you’re doing. Don’t be alarmed by detox symptoms!

  10. Jenn

    Just make sure your calorie count doesn’t suffer too much, if you go too low on the calories it will cause your metabolism to slow… I’ve done them before and never noticed anything really beneficial other than I was hungry and well hydrated. Other people see very visible results though. Good luck with it!

    I’m still convinced that the only thing that “cleanses” your body is your liver. Your liver is specifically made to break down all those bad toxins, and is also what produces the things your body needs in order to break down food. Efficient healthy liver = better metabolism. I firmly believe that eating a diet where one avoids harsh chemicals that put extra stress on your liver (pesticides, antibiotics, hormones, preservatives, synthetic ingredients like modified food starch or maltodextrin), drinks lots of water, and eats lots of liver friendly foods (lots of lemon, dark leafy greens, legumes, root vegetables) will achieve the same thing as most “cleanses”, and be a much safer approach, and also a regime one can adopt over a long term basis.

  11. Shannon, I’ll love you no matter what, but I pretty much agree with Jenn and this guy: http://bit.ly/dDqPz.

    Also, I’m married to a gastroenterologist and while he doesn’t think there’s any problem with fasting for 1-2 days, any more than that wouldn’t go over well. It’s true, you can’t really “cleanse” or “detoxify” your body any better than it already does.

  12. Kathy @KKirkscey

    When you say cleanse, all I can think of is the prep for a colonoscopy. That is something I have done a few times, and really dread doing again. I’ll have to say that it is something I would never do unless I had to. But good luck with yours. I hope it goes well for you. Hopefully, it is not as much like the prep for a colonoscopy as I though it was:)

  13. I agree with Jen, if you do drop your calories too low you can end up making it worse in the long run by slowing your metabolism down by a good deal.

    But I also agree with you that the journey is one we can share with others, but ultimately it is our own. We’ll still love hearing about your progress (both of you) whatever you choose!

  14. Hi- I totally get the appeal of cleanses, and almost anything can serve as a “cleanse”. The only thing I worry about when my clients undertake a cleanse or “detox” is if they are typically binge-eaters, something like a cleanse can trigger binge-eating in a big way. It’s a tricky balancing act, and anything that makes you too hungry or feel deprived in ways that might be personally triggering can throw you into a big binge that might be tough to get out of.

    But I also know that a quick healthy cleanse can inspire and help people break a lot of habits quickly and give the psychological sense of a “fresh start”.

    I like cleanses that focus on whole foods, and eliminating sugar/flour/alcohol/processed foods. That will give most people lots of relief after 4-5 days, with diminished cravings once you go thru a couple days of detox from sugar, etc.

    As has already been said, this is such an individual journey- check in with your intuitive guidance to see if 1. it’s right for you, and… 2. if it’s the right time for you.
    If you feel lots of fear/anxiety, that’s probably a sign from your Intuitive Body that it’s not a great match right this minute.

    Hope this helps, and wishing you all all good things.

    xox
    Lisa

  15. carebear712

    Good luck, I am interested in hearing how it goes for ya!!!

  16. There are many ways to detox and cleanse. I hope your experiment is a great success. And you are right you can find the pros and cons for anything.

    Cleaning out your innerds (old grandpa expression) does have some advantages towards weight loss. It often will improve the way your process your food and the nutrition you intake for a while after.

    I am curious to see your report come in as it has held my curiosity for a while now and is the one thing I have never had the courage to do. (Bathroom is too far away in case things go wrong.) Lol, but seriously it will be great to see your report as I know I can count on honesty here.

Leave a Reply

