Motivation for the Unmotivated

images[2]Monday was one of those days when I somehow ended up mixing a skrewitol pill in with my daily vitamins… Oops!  I think it started when I got on the scale and realized I only lost one more pound.  Ya know me, “Miss Show me the Skinny”!  I just need to tell you the junk food isn’t worth it and really doesn’t taste that great especially when it makes you feel sick! (I now know from experience – YUCK)!

Today, Tuesday, however, I woke up at 5:45 am went to the track, packed my lunch and healthy snacks, drank lots of water and went to a Zumba class to end the evening.  It was a great day!  So you are probably wondering where the change came from.  I read the following paragraph from Absolute Weight loss and Nutrition Center’s binder:

“This year alone over 50 million people will go on a diet.  Only 5% of those people will keep the weight off.  Research shows that more than 50% of all deaths in America may be directly connected to improper diet, inadequate nutrition, and lack of exercise.  40% of cancer among men and women is directly related to improper diet and is therefore, preventable”

I had posted on Twitter that I lost a pound and was wishing it was more.  Yes, I posted it wanting ya’ll to boost me up and you did.  I got great comments like “slow and steady wins the race”.  I was feeling a bit better, but there was still the feeling of failure because I am not seeing the pounds melt away as quick as I would like.  Until, I read that paragraph.  I realized there are a million more reasons why I am on this journey that to be hot and skinny and lose weight.  I am making life changes to be healthier and happier.  What I am doing takes constant effort, well at least for me, and mean I need to continually improve rather than doing good here and there.  Eating healthy and exercise cannot be the exception, but must be the norm.  Saying that I know I will have days were I don’t exercise and I eat junk, or don’t drink enough water and that is okay, but they must be few!

I know this is simple stuff to many of you, but it is part of my journey and the realizations I am experiencing.  I love those moments when you realize why you are doing this and feel like you want to do it for the rest of your life for all the right reasons.  Everyone has different goals and will achieve them in different ways… I am thankful for the lessons that have brought me to learn the blessings of healthy living!

Angie, on her way to become a fit healthy happy person!

16 Comments

Filed under Fabulous thoughts of Angie

16 responses to “Motivation for the Unmotivated

  1. Wenchy

    Every bit helps!

  2. When you start realizing these things, you get to a point where eating healthy and exercising becomes the goal, not the just the means to an end. My whole philosophy is that I would eat and live this way even if I weren’t overweight (and I will have to when I’m no longer overweight anyway), because this is what is required for good health.

    You’re doing great! Of course we all take a skrewitol pill once in a while…

  3. I feel you. I’m on this exact same journey, struggling everyday but I feel so rewarded by the little things. A pound lost. Water chosen over pop. Walking across the parking lot instead of parking close to the door. It’s baby steps but they’ll add up.

  4. Amanda

    I agree with Hanlie!

    But I do love those “lightbulb moments” where you feel rejuvenated and motivated when you remember why you’re on this journey in the first place!

    P.S. That paragraph about dieting is shocking. 50 million people …and only a 5% success rate!

  5. Kathy @KKirkscey

    Angie, you are doing great. The healthy habits you are forming will eventually get you to the weight that is right for you and keep you there. Don’t let that 5% success rate discourage you. I’m not sure I really believe that. Have you ever looked at the National Weight Control Registry? http://www.nwcr.ws It has a lot of success stories that are encouraging. You are right though – being healthy and happy is what is important.

  6. CJ Carter

    Thought I would pop my two cents in here because I just know you are eager to have it:) It is discouraging when only one pound comes off. To keep from feeling like a big failure when I lose only a pound, I go and grab a pound of meat out of my freezer and set it on the counter. I stare at it and convince myself that in fact that very large sized package came off my thigh.:)) One pound does not seem like much, until you really look at what a pound of something looks like. Your perception will change I promise. I am now at 19lb so I am eyeballing that bag of dry dog food and realizing that I am no longer carrying all that! Cool huh?! Another great thing about 1lb? For every one pound you lose, you are taking 7lbs of pressure off of your knees! Amazing I think! OK, I have taken enough of your time with my babbling. Keep up the good work, nobody said it was going to be easy, but it is soooooo worth it!

  7. Even though I am on my fit mission to get healthy and change to a healthy life style I am having trouble with my meals and planning. I do plan out my lunches pretty well when there is stuff in the house but dinners are a whole different story. I come home and there are always road blocks that are making it harder and harder to eat healthy meal most of it is time. Once I master that I think I will be right on my way. We all have our speed bumps.

  8. Angie, you are working hard and the wisdom of the journey continues to show your growth. The epiphany that you shared today is that it isn’t about the short term stuff. It is all about the long term commitment.

    Sure it feels great to see the scale drop. I have clients that revolve around that number each week. They forget the changes in pants size, they forget the added energy, they forget the changes taking place internally because they are eating healthier. All for the number on the scale. Well that number is not the last word. The last word is reaching a healthy and energized lifestyle and the changes that go along with a lifelong commitment to that lifestyle.

    Finding the joy in the workout that a couple of weeks ago would have killed ya seeming like it is getting easier. Walking up more stairs before you get winded. Doing exercise because you want to. These are the good things to pay attention to. These are the things that are going to keep you going past the weight and to a long and happy life with family and friends.

    The reason so few people fail with weight loss is they get urgent about the scale and once it looks good they go back to old habits. Often to put back the weight they lost and then some. You and Shannon are learning the habits that lead to long life and good health. and bringing a great bunch of folks along with you for the ride. Your rewards will be beyond measure.

    Good journeys!

  9. I realized this week that I am finally my own best friend and by exercising and eating right I’m taking good care of ME!

    Keep up the good work!

  10. That is a very powerful statement! Enough to move me along too. Good for you tho, for using it to get yourself motivated!

    Angie, I have something for you….email your address to me and your t-shirt size.

  11. Angie, I have written many times about how the journey has been almost more important than the weight loss and how, in the end, it takes as long as it needs to take (in hindsight, of course). Don’t get me wrong, I get frustrated at times too…because I am human. And so you are 🙂

    Trust the process…

  12. PS. Just recommended you to the rest of the Twitter folks and sent the link to your article to these folks (cause they asked, :=))

    http://www.selfmademiracle.com

    Stars in the making!

  13. Darling, I have to tell you that I have lost 1 lb/week in my journey. Some weeks no pounds. Some a bit more. But it has never been dramatic or huge and I am telling you, slow and steady DOES win the race. Think about where you will be one year from now if you continue at a 1 lb rate. It will be great. You will feel amazing. I am super proud of you.

    You are learning so much, and YES you are gaining TONS in those nonscale victories. The health and exercise benefits are tremendous. I am really happy for you and WITH you. oxoxoo

  14. captiveillusions

    Angie, you are fabulous! I too had a 1 lb week last week. I’m not getting there nearly as fast as I wanted to. But it’s not all about the scale. How much better you feel, and those healthy habits that are replacing the bad ones are so much more important.
    Think about it this way, not only did you lose 1 lb, but you didn’t gain any of the weight that you were previously gaining to get you to this point!
    You didn’t get where you were overnight, you won’t take it all off that fast either. At 1 lb a week, in 2 years you will have reached your goal safely & will have so many healthy new habits, you will be one of that small percentage that keeps it off for good.

    So give your fabulous self the pat on the back you truly deserve!

    Health & Happiness to you!
    @a_healthier_me

  15. Checking out your blog for the first time because someone left your link on my site as a blogger they admire.

    Losing is better than gaining in this instance. Don’t be too hard on yourself 🙂

    Nice to ‘meet’ you!

  16. I love this blog. I started a weight loss challenge on my blog, which is odd because it is a humor blog. The fact is that I have gained 70 pounds since I got married and now I have a baby on the way. It is important to me that I be healthy and live a long life for my baby, my wife and myself. Your blog is an inspiration. It is my privilege to visit it and to read your wonderful posts.

Leave a Reply

